advice · beauty · fashion · Fashion and lifestyle · thrift

Shopping addiction. 

So I was watching the movie “Confessions of a shopaholic” recently and I was overwhelmed by the similarities between myself and the main character of the movie, which then got me thinking…Do I have a shopping addiction? Short answer, definitely. 

Like most women I spend a hell of a lot of time shopping, mostly at opshops but at other stores as well. I like the whole experience, to see and touch the things, especially digging my face into clothing to get a good “feel” of the fabric..anyone else do this? I’m also a smeller, as in, I will smell fabric, candles, books and pretty much everything else. 

I’m not really sure why I do it. When I’m sad, I shop. When I’m happy, I shop. Hell sometimes I’ve even done it whilst dreaming! 

The ever approaching ding dong of Christmas is in the air, which means this addict gets her fix big time, I mean look how I am! This can’t be good for you right? 


So what can I do about it? It’s not like I spend a lot of money, usually it’s only cheap things so it’s not like my addiction is breaking the bank or anything…although let’s not talk about my makeup collection….

What annoys me the most about “needing” to go shopping is the “needing” part. I just should be happy with what I’ve got for a while you know? I’m sure a lot of you can relate to this feeling and i don’t know how you feel about this being an addiction, but I’m not really happy about it so…. I’m going to tell you something that will blow your mind… I’m officially going to tone it down for a while because we can’t just keep loading ourselves with…stuff!

Obviously I know I still have to buy gifts and things for Christmas but when it comes to buying for myself, I don’t need to! I have enough! 


So I’m making a pledge. I vow not to shop aimlessly looking for things to buy for myself! There I said it. It’s there in writing and I can do this! 

At least till after Christmas anyway…

Let me know down below if you have a similar problem, we can help each other make a change perhaps? 


Until next time,

Go forth and go to shopping rehab….hold on wait, will there be discounts soon?! Boxing Day sales maybe!? Jk 

Thriftstore Apocalypse X 

4 thoughts on “Shopping addiction. 

Leave a Reply

